Duran Duran is a British pop band that was part of the New Romantic movement, a subgenre of the new wave from the eighties. The band name is taken from the character Dr. Durand Durand from the cult film Barbarella from 1968.

The group was founded in Birmingham in 1978 by Nick Rhodes and John Taylor. After a short period with some line-up changes (including Stephen Duffy on vocals), the band eventually consisted of Simon le Bon (vocals), Nick Rhodes (keyboards), Roger Taylor (drums), Andy Taylor (guitar) and John Taylor ( bass guitar), none of them related. Their 1981 debut album Duran Duran features a successful blend of disco, new wave and David Bowie and Roxy Music-inspired pop. Thanks to strong singles such as Planet Earth and Girls On Film, the group immediately had a big break through in Great Britain.

In 1982 the album Rio was released. The single Hungry Like The Wolf from this album marked their breakthrough in the US and the lighter ballad Save A Prayer became a worldwide hit. The members of Duran Duran were superstars from then on. In addition to the music, the video clips (which were frequently played by the up-and-coming MTV) stood out, as well as the meticulously groomed clothing.

Female teenagers, in particular, were at the forefront of their concerts, and the Duranmania sometimes bordered on hysteria. The TV special Live! Hammersmith 1982 which was released on DVD in 2009 shows this very well.

The British band’s 15th album Future Past was released on October 22, 2021, exactly 40 years after the debut.

10. A View to Kill

9. Rio

8. Hungry Like The Wolf

7. Come Undone

6. Planet Earth

5. Girls on Film

4. The Wild Boys

3. Save A Prayer

2. The Reflex

1. Ordinary World